Fight Theft Charges

The penalties for theft charges can vary dramatically depending on the type and value of the property that was allegedly stolen. One thing is for certain: If you are convicted of this crime, it will negatively impact your life. Even if the conviction does not land you behind bars, you will have a criminal record that will make you far less desirable to potential employers. Your best bet is to fight these charges with the help of an attorney.

At Russo White & Keller P.C. in Birmingham, our lawyers have more than 70 years of combined experience fighting theft charges. As soon as you hire us, we will get to work building a criminal defense strategy designed to overcome the charges and allow you to move forward with your life. The process starts with a free consultation.

How Theft Offenses Work In Alabama

Under Alabama law, theft of property is divided into three categories: First degree, second degree and third degree. The categories are differentiated by the value of the property that was allegedly stolen, the type of property and other factors.

Third-degree theft is typically charged when the value of the stolen item was $500 or less. While this is the least serious of theft charges, penalties could still be as high as a year of imprisonment and a fine of $6,000.

Second-degree theft is a felony charge. It is typically charged when the value of the stolen item was $2,500 or less, but greater than $500. Certain stolen items, such as credit cards, debit cards and firearms, will automatically lead to second-degree theft charges.

First-degree theft is a felony charge. This is charged when the value of the stolen item exceeds $2,500. It is also charged in the event of an auto theft, or if an item was stolen directly off the victim's person. Penalties for this charge are severe.

In addition to theft of property, there are other theft crimes, including:

  • Theft of services
  • Receiving stolen property
  • Extortion

Our attorneys aggressively defend against all theft charges. We conduct thorough investigations and challenge all evidence, including videotape evidence if it is unclear or not definitive. You are innocent until proven guilty, and we will work hard to prevent a conviction.

Have You Been Accused Of Shoplifting?

Shoplifting, also called retail theft, should never be considered a minor charge. Allegations of shoplifting a low-value item can still lead to charges of third-degree theft, which is a misdemeanor. A conviction can lead to a fine of up to $6,000 or up to a year in jail.

With the value of many of today's electronic items, it is not uncommon for shoplifting charges to escalate to the level of second-degree theft, which is a felony and carries even more serious penalties if you are convicted. Furthermore, regardless of the degree of theft, you could be sued by the store to recover the value of the item that was allegedly stolen.

We know how to fight charges of shoplifting.

Talk To Us About A Theft Offense For Free

If you have been accused of theft, email us or call 205-259-5439.